Eating the Frog by using “Pomodoro Technique”

Esha Fatima
2 min readJan 2, 2021

--

I heard this term for the first time during the Amal session and I was like “Ew, how can you eat frog.” considering this sentence again, I realized that “eating the frog” is actually a metaphor. Frog represents here the important tasks of the day that you keep procrastinating.

For eating the frog first of all you need to identify your frog. Prioritizing and organizing the task list can really be a helpful tool in identifying the frog. Once you have identified your frog just eat it. Try to do that task immediately.

One of the best ways to eat your frog is using Pomodoro technique. It is a time management tool developed by Francisco Chirillo. In this technique, a timer is used that breaks the interval of your work in 25 minutes followed by short breaks.

I choose to develop a matrix by using this technique. I set the Clock for 25 minutes and started working on it. These 25 minutes passed without distractions then I set Clock for another 25 minutes. While working my mobile phone rang and I was attracted toward it. After using the phone for about 3 minutes I realized that I am wasting my time and I switched back to work. I set alarm again for the next 25 minutes and during these 25 minutes I got distracted by random thoughts. After spending about 5 to 7 minutes on random thoughts I went back to work and eventually my matrix was completed. After completing the task I learned that I can focus much better on my work by using this technique.

It is a fact that eating frogs is not pleasant always but we all have to eat it. I would like to suggest you to use pomodoro technique for eating your frog and increasing your productivity. Don’t procrastinate. Eat the frog otherwise it will eat you!

--

--